Lieberth Community Vision Award

Leadership Akron created the Lieberth Community Vision Award in November 2012, to honor the life and leadership of Dave Lieberth upon his retirement as Deputy Mayor and Chief of Staff of the City of Akron. A founder and life trustee of Leadership Akron, Lieberth has been known for bringing vision, pragmatism, and a relentless work ethic to his involvement in countless community causes.


The Lieberth Community Vision Award will be given each year to a leader who exemplifies the type of leadership that Dave has modeled and Leadership Akron seeks to foster, in consideration of the criteria below:

Community-centered leadership

The recipient will be known for putting aside individual agendas and looking at opportunities, challenges, and issues through the lens of the whole community.

Impact on Akron

The recipient’s leadership has shaped the Akron community in significant ways.


The recipient’s leadership has impacted multiple sectors in the Akron community, not just one specific area.

Involvement in Leadership Akron

The recipient has played a meaningful role in advancing the mission and work of Leadership Akron. S/he may or may not be an actual graduate of Leadership Akron.

Pragmatism/Hard Work

The recipient is known for his/her work ethic, willingness to go the extra mile, and problem-solving ability when advancing community. S/he does not hesitate to plunge into the sometimes unglamorous details to get the job done.

Meet Our Past Honorees

Over the past six years, we have had the honor of celebrating the leadership of these individuals with the Lieberth Community Vision Award.

Dave Lieberth | 2012

Life Trustee of Leadership Akron, "Celebrating the Art of Dave Lieberth"

Marie Covington | 2013

Covington Communications, "In the right hands, the seed of a dream can come to life"

Tim Fitzwater | 2014

"Leadership in Motion"

Brian Moore | 2015

Roetzel and Andress, "Leadership in Harmony"

Theresa Carter | 2016

OMNOVA Solutions Foundation, "Grace in Motion"

Laura Culp | 2017

Sikich, LLP, "A Story of Extraordinary Leadership"

Robert w. malone | 2018

Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, LLC, "Riding the Wave of Leadership"

Our 2018 Lieberth Community Vision Award Committee

Danny Zampelli, Event Chair
Melvin Blake
Wendy Bolas
Dirk Breiding
Paul Catania*
Heather Flohr
Ken Haver
Leianne Neff Heppner
Kimberly Huff*

Shelley Koch
Doug Kohl
Michael Kolk*
Susan Kosco
Amanda Leffler*
Teresa LeGrair
Arica Leonard
Meghan MacDonald
Lisa Mansfield

James Merklin*
Angelina Milo
Heather Pollock
Brittany Schmoekel
Jon Stefanik*
Stephen Strayer
Pamela Wright
Christine Yuhasz
Laurie Zuckerman 

*Sponsorships team member

We would like to thank the sponsors of the 2018 Lieberth Community Vision Award


Presenting Sponsor


Akron Children’s Hospital
FirstEnergy Corp.
Huntington Bank
Lehner Family Foundation
Roetzel & Andress, LPA


Chemstress Consultant Company
Cohen & Company, Ltd.
GOJO Industries, Inc.
Maynard Family Foundation
Meaden & Moore, Ltd.
Oswald Companies
Peoples Bank
Sterling Jewelers, Inc.


Akron Area YMCA
Akron Beacon Journal/
Akron Community Foundation
Akron/Summit Convention & Visitor’s Bureau
Bober Markey Fedorvich
Brouse McDowell, LPA
Cleveland Clinic Akron General
ComDoc, Inc.
FedEx Custom Critical
First American Title Insurance Company
Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition
PNC Bank
Seibert-Keck Insurance Agency
Sikich LLP
Stark State College
Summit County Executive Ilene Shapiro’s Department of Job & Family Services
Summa Health
The Ruhlin Company
The University of Akron
United Way of Summit County


AAA Akron Auto & Travel Club
Advanced Insurance Designs, Inc.
AESCO Holdings LLC
Akron Zoo
Apple Growth Partners
AxessPointe Community Health Centers
Frances S. Buchholzer
Community Action Akron Summit
Marie Covington
Gavin Scott Salon & Spa
GreatWork! Employment Services
G. Stephens, Inc.
Landmark Plastic Corporation
Sandy and Jeff Naragon
Jim and Cheryl Nilsen
Scott Read
The House of LaRose
The Lefton Group, LLC
Vorys Legal Council


Ashton Blake
Chippewa Lake Ski Team
Dave Shoop
Tim Fitzwater Photography
John S. Knight Center
Jones Group
Wasted Talent Media
Weathervane Playhouse
Zeber-Martell Gallery & Clay Studio